top of page
  • jreeves21

Food, the Reflection of Us by Jill Camargo

As I reflect during my last hours of my adventure to Korea, I realize how much I’ve learned. Korean people and the Korean culture are proud of their heritage and their achievements. They may be perceived as not a diplomatic country; however, I felt welcomed and respected because I ventured to their country.

I was amazed at their effort to keep their history alive by rebuilding or restoring destroyed temples and palaces, while encouraging the traditional dress of the hanbok, which seems romanticized as well as a preservation of tradition and history.



The food I tasted also reflects the culture of Korea -savory and sweet, bold and sustaining- the taste of history and tradition.


I enjoyed meeting people who work in education outside of my microcosm and having meals together on our visits helped further understanding and build relationships. I wished we could’ve interacted more with students, at the schools we visited and those pursuing an teaching degree.



The teachers and a few administrators that we did observe, as well as the university education faculty, demonstrated a growing desire to improve teaching and the lives of each student. This was evident by the variety of programs offered, well-balance fresh lunches, and a philosophy of students’ feeling happy and included. Food, it brings us together and keeps us and our histories alive.

2 views0 comments
bottom of page